Mercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport, also known as Mercedes, is the most dominant team of the current grid. In the hybrid area, the German manufacturer managed to win six world titles. It is the only team that has been able to secure the championship six consecutive years, the previous record being held by Ferrari (five consecutive years). Ross Brawn sold a majority of his stake in his team, Brawn GP, to Mercedes (or rather, the parent company Daimler), after which the Silver Arrows were born.

Previous Mercedes drivers

Mercedes participated in the Formula 1 championships of 1954 and 1955. Legendary driver Juan Manuel Fangio won the championship in both years. The constructor's championship did not exist up until 1958, meaning these seasons did not officially count towards Mercedes' win-tally. Michael Schumacher drove for the Silver Arrows for three seasons, after which Lewis Hamilton took the wheel. Nico Rosberg won one championship with the team situated in Brixworth.

Current Mercedes drivers

The current Mercedes drivers are Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas. Lewis Hamilton is known to be the championship winner of the last six years, losing only to his teammate Rosberg in 2016. His flawless wingman is Valtteri Bottas. The Finnish driver doesn't ask questions and is happy to take an occasional win.