Time schedule Austrian Grand Prix 2020 Formula 1

Time schedule Austrian Grand Prix 2020

By Thorsten Hendriks 03 July 2020 | 15:55

The Formula 1 season is about to start again. On Sunday 5 July the first race is scheduled after a long wait due to the coronavirus. It will be the Austrian Grand Prix, which will be held on the Red Bull Ring

The hunt for the World Drivers' Championship and the constructors' title has reopened. World Champion Lewis Hamilton can once again defend his crown in the black Mercedes. It is up to his team mate Valtteri Bottas and the new generation with Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc to keep the Brit from his seventh world title.

Austrian Grand Prix 2019

There was certainly a nice result for Verstappen in sight next to Leclerc on pole position, although that chance seemed to disappear from the menu immediately after the start. The Dutchman had to watch with dismay as six cars rushed past him before the first corner. He fell far back to eighth place behind Leclerc, the Mercedes of Hamilton and Bottas, Lando Norris, Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel and Pierre Gasly in the other Red Bull.

He started a race to catch up with Gasly, Norris and Raikkonen. After that he was able to open the hunt for Vettel in the Ferrari and overtake him, which gave him free rein to pursue Valtteri Bottas. It helped the Red Bull Racing driver that the Mercedes cars were hopelessly suffering from overheating, causing them not to reach their top speed.

So it was only a matter of time before he dared to attack the Fin, and to try to find Leclerc after that. After an intense duel with the very fast Ferrari, Verstappen boldly put the Monegask aside to secure a hard-fought victory, the first time for a car with Honda power in thirteen years. 

Overview times GP Austria 2020

Friday 3 July

First free practice
11:00-12:30 CET (Europe, Brussels)

Second free practice
15:00-16:30 CET  (Europe, Brussels)

Saturday 4 July

Third free practice
12:00-13:00 CET  (Europe, Brussels)

15:00-16:00 CET  (Europe, Brussels)

Sunday 5 July

14:10 CET  (Europe, Brussels)

(Photo: Pedrik CC 2.0)



Be the first to comment!


More news